FAQ – Questions & AnswersCategory: Buy Ammo FAQHow to buy a gun in South Carolina?
Samuel asked 4 months ago
What documents do I need to buy a gun in South Carolina?

5 Answers
Cruz Staff answered 4 months ago
If you’re a resident of South Carolina and over the age of 21, purchasing a gun is relatively easy.
There are three main ways to buy a gun in South Carolina:

  • through a firearms dealer
  • at a gun show
  • through a private sale

All firearms dealers in South Carolina must be licensed by the state. To purchase a gun from a dealer, you’ll need to complete an application form and pass a background check. The dealer will also need to see your driver’s license or other photo ID.
Gun shows are another popular place to buy guns in South Carolina. federal law requires all guns sold at gun shows to be purchased through licensed dealers, so you’ll still need to go through the same process as if you were buying from a regular store.
You can also buy guns from private individuals. However, there are some restrictions on private sales. For example, you must be at least 18 years old to buy a long gun (rifle or shotgun) from a private individual, and 21 years old to buy a handgun. You also can’t buy a gun from someone who is not a resident of South Carolina.
So, if you’re looking to buy a gun in South Carolina, there are a few things you need to keep in mind. Make sure you’re familiar with the state’s laws and regulations and make sure you go through the proper channels to complete your purchase. Thanks for reading!

Jordan Staff answered 4 months ago
South Carolina is a shall-issue state, meaning that as long as you meet the requirements set forth by state law, you will be able to purchase a gun.

  • To buy a gun in South Carolina, you must first pass a background check. You can either do this through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) or a state-level background check.
  • Once you have passed the background check, you will need to purchase a gun license from the South Carolina Department of Public Safety. The cost of the license is $20 for residents and $50 for non-residents. After you have obtained your license, you may purchase firearms from any licensed dealer in the state.

There are a few restrictions on who can purchase a gun in South Carolina.

  1. For example, you must be at least 21 years of age to purchase a handgun and 18 years of age to purchase a long gun.
  2. You also cannot purchase a gun if you have been convicted certain misdemeanors, if you are subject to a restraining order, or if you have been involuntarily committed to a mental institution.
  3. Additionally, you cannot purchase a gun if you are an illegal alien or if you are a fugitive from justice.

Lewis Staff answered 4 months ago
Here are the steps you will need to follow to legally buy a gun in South Carolina:

  1. Be at least 21 years of age
  2. Possess a state-issued ID or driver’s license
  3. Complete a firearms safety course
  4. Undergo a background check
  5. Purchase the gun from a licensed dealer

Assuming you meet all of the above criteria, you can simply go to a licensed firearms dealer and purchase the gun of your choice. The dealer will then run a background check, and as long as you pass that, you will be able to take possession of the gun.
It is important to note that there are some restrictions on who can legally own a gun in South Carolina. For example, convicted felons are not allowed to purchase or possess firearms. There are also some restrictions on certain types of weapons, such as fully automatic firearms and sawed-off shotguns. Be sure to familiarize yourself with these restrictions before attempting to purchase a gun.
 
To improve your weapon we recommend looking at the best gun parts and accessories.

Ivan Staff answered 4 months ago
In South Carolina, you must be at least 21 years old to purchase a handgun from a licensed dealer. You must also have a valid state-issued ID. If you are purchasing a rifle or shotgun, there is no minimum age requirement.
There are three ways to purchase a gun in South Carolina: through a licensed dealer, through a private sale, or an auction.
If you are purchasing from a licensed dealer, you will need to fill out form 4473 and pass a background check. The background check will involve providing your personal information, including your criminal history and mental health history.
If you are purchasing from a private seller, there is no background check required by law.

Antony Staff answered 4 months ago
The process for purchasing a gun in South Carolina is fairly simple. Any person who is not prohibited from owning a gun can purchase one from a licensed dealer.
To buy a gun, simply find a licensed dealer and fill out the appropriate paperwork. You will need to provide your name, address, Social Security number, and other basic information. You will also need to pass a background check, which the dealer will arrange. Once you have passed the background check, you can take possession of your gun.
It is important to note that South Carolina has some restrictions on who can purchase a gun. For example, felons are not allowed to purchase guns. If you are not sure if you are eligible to purchase a gun, you should consult with a lawyer before doing so.