FAQ – Questions & AnswersCategory: Buy Ammo FAQHow to buy a gun in Kansas?
Giovanni asked 1 month ago
What documents do I need to buy a gun in Kansas?

4 Answers
Ivan Staff answered 1 month ago
Of the 50 states in the U.S., Kansas is one of the easier places to purchase a gun. Unlike some other states, Kansas does not require a permit to buy or possess a firearm, and there is no waiting period for purchasing a gun. This means that you can walk into a gun store and walk out with a new firearm without having to wait or jump through any extra hoops.
There are, however, some restrictions on who can purchase a gun in Kansas. For example, you must be at least 21 years old to buy a handgun from a federally licensed dealer, and 18 years old to buy a long gun (rifle or shotgun). You also cannot purchase a gun if you have been convicted of certain felonies, misdemeanors, or domestic violence crimes.
If you meet the age and background requirements, buying a gun in Kansas is a relatively simple process. You can purchase a gun from a private individual, a gun store, or at a gun show. Private sellers are not required to conduct a background check on the buyer, but federally licensed gun dealers must run a background check through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS).

Antony Staff answered 1 month ago
You must be 21 years of age to purchase a handgun from a licensed firearms dealer in Kansas. If you are 18 years of age, you may purchase a shotgun or rifle. To do so, you must present a state-issued photo identification proving your age and complete a Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives Form 4473. You will also be required to undergo a background check. For more information, please contact the Kansas State Police.
We also recommend checking out the best accessories for your gun here.

Lewis Staff answered 1 month ago
There is no waiting period to purchase a gun in Kansas. You do not need a permit to carry a concealed firearm in Kansas. You can openly carry a firearm without a permit.
You must be at least 18 years old to purchase a rifle or shotgun and 21 years old to purchase a handgun from a licensed firearms dealer.
First-time buyers must complete a Firearm Safety Course and pass a background check, which includes being fingerprinted.
Residents who have out-of-state permits can use them to buy guns if the permitting states’ guidelines are as strict as or stricter than Kansas’.
Handguns must be bought through federally licensed dealers, but private sales of firearms are allowed between residents of the same state after a background check is conducted.
Kansas prohibits the sale of assault weapons and large-capacity ammunition magazines that hold more than 10 rounds.
Some counties and cities in Kansas have additional gun regulations. Contact your local law enforcement agency for more information.

Jordan Staff answered 1 month ago
If you want to purchase a gun in the state of Kansas, there are a few things you need to know.
First, you must be at least 21 years of age.
Second, you must complete a firearms training course. Finally, you must pass a background check. Here’s a step-by-step guide to buying a gun in Kansas:
1. Choose the type of gun you want to buy. There are many different types of guns available on the market, so it’s important to choose the one that best suits your needs. If you’re not sure which type of gun to buy, consult with a firearms dealer or instructor.
2. Find a licensed firearms dealer in your area. To purchase a gun, you must do so through a licensed firearms dealer. You can find a list of licensed dealers in your area by visiting the Kansas Bureau of Investigation website.
3. Complete a firearms training course. To purchase a gun, you must first complete a firearms training course. The course will teach you how to safely handle and shoot a gun. You can find a list of approved firearms training courses on the Kansas Bureau of Investigation website.
4. Pass a background check. To purchase a gun, you must pass a background check. The background check will ensure that you are not a convicted felon or otherwise prohibited from owning a gun. You can initiate the background check by visiting the Kansas Bureau of Investigation website.
5. Complete the purchase transaction. Once you have passed the background check, you will be able to complete the purchase transaction with the firearms dealer. Be sure to ask the dealer any questions you have about the gun, such as how to properly care for it and clean it.
 
Also don’t forget to check out the best gun parts in our store for your new gun.